Preparing your computer for re-use
Make Sure Your Data Is Securely Deleted
When giving your computer to another person, even if it's a family member, you want to ensure that your personal information and data is securely and permanently deleted. That way the new user won't be able to access passwords, social security numbers, personal journals, or other sensitive personal data.
What Do I Delete?
At a minimum you should delete all the files in your "My Documents" folder and all your application data which may be stored in a variety of places depending on your programs. You also want to delete any user accounts in your operating system.
Another option is to delete your whole hard drive, operating system and all.
The Problem with Manually Deleting Files
There are two big problems with manually deleting your files:
- Manually deleting files can be very time consuming and is prone to human error. It's hard to know where each program keeps its files. Some programs keep cached, temporary, or hidden information about you or your activities. The bottom line is, it's too easy to miss something.
- Most traditional forms of deleting files aren't permanent. Even if you delete files and empty your recycle bin, the files can still be recovered using freely-available software tools. You want to make sure your data is really gone and unrecoverable.
WipeDrive SystemSaver allows you to securely and permanently erase your personal data while keeping your operating system and programs intact. This allows the new user to benefit from the existing programs while protecting your privacy.