Completely Erase Your Hard Drive

How do I completely erase my hard drive with WipeDrive?

Your sold, donated or discarded computer could cost you thousands!

Formatting your hard drive DOES NOT erase your hard drive data!

Don't give away your personal information. Over the past five years, one in four households was victimized by some type of identity theft. If you do not erase your hard drive before selling or donating your computer, your personal identity or company trade secrets could be stolen.

Identity thieves target donated, sold, and discarded computers for good reason. Even a single carelessly discarded diskette could contain your entire personal identity. Deleting a file, partitioning a disk, or formatting a drive will not erase your hard drive completely. By using WipeDrive, you can securely erase ALL of your hard drive data, giving you the peace of mind you deserve.

Do you need to:

  • Erase your hard drive before selling or donating your computer?
  • Erase your hard drive of all personal data before returning your computer to an employer?
  • Erase your hard drive before discarding your computer to prevent identity theft?
  • Erase your hard drive of an operating system damaged by viruses or spyware?

Use US Department of Defense approved WipeDrive to erase your hard drive. Erase your hard drive at the DoD 5220.22-M standard featuring multiple overwrites of random characters. Use the same software as Major Fortune 500 companies, government agencies, and users all over the world to erase your hard drive of all data.

Attention!
WipeDrive will permanently erase your hard drive, including operating systems, program files, viruses, and your data. It also erases your hard drive partition tables and drive formats, including FAT16, FAT32, NTFS, HPFS, Linux, and more.

If you intend to reinstall your operating system, make sure you have the necessary operating system installation disks or CDs prior to using WipeDrive to erase your hard drive.

WipeDrive will not run from within Windows. In order to erase your hard drive, WipeDrive must be launched during the boot process when the computer is first turned on.

Using the WipeDrive CD to Erase Your Hard Drive

  1. Insert the WipeDrive CD into your CD-ROM drive and then restart your computer.
  2. You should see the WipeDrive screen shortly after you reboot. If you do not see WipeDrive, but instead see Windows, your computer is set to boot from your hard drive before the CD-ROM drive. You will need to change your computer's boot order sequence to erase your hard drive. Learn how to change the boot order to erase your hard drive.
  3. If you cannot erase your hard drive using the WipeDrive CD, you can create a WipeDrive boot floppy disk using the WipeDrive CD. Learn how to create a WipeDrive boot disk to erase your hard drive.
  4. To erase your hard drive once WipeDrive is running, see using WipeDrive below.

Using a WipeDrive Floppy Diskette to Erase Your Hard Drive

  1. Insert the WipeDrive disk into the floppy drive and then restart your computer.
  2. You should see the WipeDrive screen shortly after you reboot. If you do not see WipeDrive, but instead see Windows, your computer is set to boot from your hard drive before the floppy drive. You will need to change your computer's boot order sequence to erase your hard drive. Learn how to change the boot order to erase your hard drive.
  3. To erase your hard drive once WipeDrive is running, see using WipeDrive below.
  4. Click here to learn how to create a WipeDrive boot disk to erase your hard drive

Erasing Your Hard Drive

  1. To erase your hard drive, select option 1 from the main WipeDrive menu.
  2. You will then see your physical drives listed numerically.
  3. Select the drive you want to erase or select the option to erase all hard drives.
  4. You can then choose the number of overwrites to perform. If your computer is fairly new, erasing your hard drive with one overwrite is more than sufficient. If your computer is more than 6 years old, we recommend that you erase your hard drive with a DoD Level 2 overwrite which includes three passes with a verify.
  5. Once you have selected the number of overwrites, answer yes to the confirmation prompts to completely erase your hard drive.

Verifying that the Disk Is Clean

If you want to verify that your hard drive is clean, you can use options 2, 3, and 4 from the main menu.

  • Option 2 is a Full Verify. WipeDrive will check every sector on the hard drive for uncleaned sectors.
  • Option 3 is a Quick Verify. WipeDrive will spot check the hard drive for uncleaned sectors.
  • Option 4 allows you to manually view specified sectors on the hard drive.

Disk Errors

If WipeDrive reports errors while erasing your hard drive, it probably means that your drive is experiencing some problems.

Errors generally mean your hard drive could be beginning to fail. If you encounter errors, we recommend rebooting the computer and trying to erase your hard drive again. If you still encounter errors, you can still use your hard drive, but we highly recommend backing up the data on it often as the drive could fail at any time.

For additional information on how to erase your hard drive, visit WipeDrive Support.